Guest Reviews

Visit Himalaya Treks takes pride in displaying all the reviews from our guests who have traveled and trekked with us. All the reviews, negative or positive, have been very valuable for us. These words have helped us to improve and also encouraged us to work harder to keep getting better. Please send us your reviews as your valuable suggestions are always highly appreciated.
Everest Base Camp Trek | A life changing adventure

We were incredibly fortunate to trek to Base Camp with Visit Himalaya Treks. Himal, the owner of Visit Himalaya Treks, was in contact with us through every step of our planning phase; answering even our most benign questions. He gave great advice on Visas, travel insurance and hotels (we wanted to stay two additional days before the trek). Throughout our trek he and our guide kept our friends and family updated on our progress through Facebook posts. He made us feel like family from the moment we stepped into his office. Our guide, Ngima, was extremely professional and incredibly experienced. He greeted us at the airport and his smile and adventurous, positive nature was immediately infectious! He also shared with us his journey to becoming a guide. Ngima solved every little ‘problem’ that arose on the trek (in the mountains nothing is certain) with skill and grace. We never had to worry about anything we knew he had everything under control. He made sure we ate enough every day (key to avoiding AMS) and that we had a great time-even teaching us some card games! If you’re adventurous and have a love for the outdoors Everest Base Camp Trek will be one of the best things you’ll ever do. It takes a bit of planning and is not an easy Sunday stroll so you’ll want to be sure to book with a company that will assist you with the planning before, encourage and motivate you during and becomes your family after. We were sad to say goodbye to Himal and Ngima and we’ll definitely go back to tackle another of the incredible Himalayan treks! VERA & KARIN from AUSTRALIA and SOUTH AFRICA

10th May, 2019

Everest Base Camp Trek | A life changing adventure

Visit Himalaya Treks organized a 23-day trek, over-300 kilometres, to the Kanchenjunga national park in Eastern Nepal. The company made all travel arrangements, incl special permits, flights to/from Bhadrapur, jeep taxi to/from Taplejung and the teahouse accommodation along the way. Their guide, Mr Shambhu Tamang, knew the area well and provided excellent guidance. I was able to visit both Kanchenjunga north and south basecamp, the Jannu basecamp and cross the four passes on the route from Ghunsa to Tseram. A truly memorable trip! Well done, Himal! Henk van Norden from The Netherlands

24th Apr, 2019

Kanchenjunga Base Camp Trek: my most challenging trek yet!
Kanchenjunga Base Camp Trek: my most challenging trek yet!

Perfection. 100% recommend this local Nepali company

I would 100% recommend Visit Himalaya Treks to anyone wanting to organise a trek in Nepal. It’s a local Nepali trekking company with a very personal touch and they have brilliant local knowledge of the areas they work in. We only had a short time in Pokhara so organised to do the Poon Hill trek through them (4days). They were incredibly quick to respond to all our enquiries and gave us lots of helpful advice when we were planning our trip. Himal in the head office was friendly and gave us lots of useful information about what we would need to bring and how to get around in Nepal. Our mountain guide Tek and porter Locksumon were brilliant from day one. Tek was professional and incredibly knowledgeable about the Himalayas and Nepali culture. He puts a lot of thought into organising trips for clients and booked us into some of the best teahouses on the trek with some incredible views of the Annapurna region. He even organised for a special birthday surprise for us at Ghorepani. We have come away from our trip with a new friend and feel that anyone would be incredibly lucky to have him as their guide. Thank you for everything, we are already excited for our next trip to Nepal and will definitely use Visit Himalaya Treks again!! Rhiannon Davies & Michael Edde

24th Apr, 2019

Perfection. 100% recommend this local Nepali company

This was our 5th trekking trip to Nepal and we knew exactly what we wanted for our Kanchenjunga South to North Base Camp Trek. We began planning in Dec 18 for a Mar-Apr 2019 and all contact with Himal in the office was very professional and responses quick. All questions answered truthfully and a good relationship was established. Final negotiations were smooth and we had a happy agreement for the trek. We met Himal and Raj in the office in KTM along with our Guide Tek and finalized all the details. All technical aspects of the trek were superb! Great Porters, Dil and Suntos, helped make the trek easier and Tek did a fantastic job as our Guide. We miss them already!! Use Visit Himalaya Treks and Himal for all your trekking needs. They provided 100% of what we wanted and are very nice to deal with!! See you next year for our Dolpo Trek!!!! Peter Tate, Karagoch Sakarin, Oliver Hargreave, Michael Barraclough.

15th Apr, 2019

Excellent Company!! You will NOT be disappointed!
Excellent Company!! You will NOT be disappointed!

Our trekking to Annapurna Base Camp

Our trekking to Annapurna Base Camp Our first experience to the Himalayas could not have been better. Himal & Raj tiredlessly helped us with all our questions prior to our trip and once we reached Kathmandu, they made us feel so welcome. The service from their team is truly special. Once our trip really started, our guide Krishna and our porter Dipak were such a pleasure to trek with. Their knowledge and sheer joy they have in their work made it feel we were trekking with friends. If we could, we would give 6 out of 5!!!! Maickel & Merijn from The Netherlands  

12th Apr, 2019

Our trekking to Annapurna Base Camp

Visit Himalaya Treks was recommended to us by a colleague and we had a great experience with them. The owner was very responsive and replied to our queries in a short period of time. We did the Annapurna Circuit Trek, had 2 porters/guides (we were a group of 4 persons) and successfully managed the trek. There was a lot of snow still on the trek. Our porters/guides always gave good recommendations and made sure that we are safe. We bought crampons on the trek - thanks to god we still found some! We also booked a 3-day visit to Chitwan National Park with the same company. We did not want to do the elephant ride, so we were able to do another half day Jeep Safari which was great. I would just recommend to inform trekkers about the conditions on the trek before the actual start of the trek so that equipment can still be bought in Kathmandu (such as crampons and gaiters. Also we should have done a full day Jeep Safari in Chitwan instead of two half-day Safaris. We will do this next time 🙂 Thanks Himal and Team!! GERALD, JULIA, MANUEL & SUSANNE from German.

8th Apr, 2019

Great Annapurna Circuit trekking experience with Chitwan National Park Tour
Great Annapurna Circuit trekking experience with Chitwan National Park Tour

Extremely helpful owner, attentive guide – Porter, great trip

17 days Everest Base Camp trek - From the moment we contacted Himal, he was incredibly responsive and helpful. His average response time for emails was probably about 5 minutes, and he was extremely patient with the plethora of questions we had as we decided which trek to do and how we wanted to go about doing it! Himal takes care of all of the pre-trek details (permits, flights, guides, timing, where to get gear, etc.) at a very reasonable price, no hidden fees. We decided to hire a Guide and Porter. Our guides Aila and Porter Nima were absolutely wonderful. They were extraordinarily attentive and cared about every detail of our comfort and safety. When some unexpected weather arose, they proved both knowledgeable and flexible in coming up with a new plan. Overall, we were in very good hands and could not have asked for a better experience. Thanks for everything!  Alicia & Owen from Seattle, Washington

2nd Mar, 2019

Extremely helpful owner, attentive guide – Porter, great trip

Visit Himalaya Trek was recommended to us by their longtime client and we could not have been more satisfied with them. Initially we were in touch with several agencies but after few emails it became quite clear Himal, the owner, is much more knowledgeable about the trek, side trips and open to any requests we had. The email communication prior the trek was prompt, professional, the pricing is very competitive and transparent. We never trekked with a guide before as we prefer to be in charge of our route, time frame, accommodation etc. As we wanted to trek around Kanchenjunga, where the guide is mandatory we have expressed our concern of losing the independent decision to Himal. He assured us that this should not be a problem. His knowledge of the area made us decide to give his agency a chance. Our trek turned out to be wonderful, the weather was great, the mountains incredible; our guide was respecting our schedule decisions, including the side trips, accommodation needs, never pushing us. Himal proved to be very professional and caring; we found out that he keeps on checking our hiking progress during the trek, not only by calling the guide but also phoning some owners of the lodges where we stayed. There are so many agencies in Kathmandu and one never knows what agency to choose as some of them are not honest. We were told about that guides participate in the helicopter scam, where they put baking soda in the clients meals, which mimics AMS and then force the client to take a helicopter back to Kathmandu (for a nice bonus ). So it is very important to choose the agency that will never support such practice. Visit Himalaya will do everything in their power to ensure your trip is a success. Helena and Pavel from Colorado

26th Dec, 2018

Trek around Kanchenjunga with Visit Himalaya Treks
Trek around Kanchenjunga with Visit Himalaya Treks
1 2 3 17